Bookmark This Page

HomeHome SitemapSitemap Contact usContacts

Mark Knopfler Ragpickers Dream Rock Music CD Review

Ragpickers Dream is the latest Rock CD released by the richly talented Mark Knopfler who once again has delivered a brilliant collection of tracks. Iím confident Mark Knopfler fans, and Rock fans alike will be pleased with this one.

I wish it werenít the case but, itís not everyday that I get a CD from an artist that I can just pop in and comfortably listen to from beginning to end. There is usually a song or two that I just canít force myself to get through. Not at all the case with Ragpickers Dream. Every track is enjoyable and was pretty easy for me to listen to from start to finish.

Ragpickers Dream has a pleasantly varied, mix of 12 tracks that are very well written songs by this clearly superb artist. With many of the songs displaying a lot of the kind emotion that makes for a really great listen. Seemingly drawing from what I can only imagine are him own real life experiences. At different points touching on the most real emotions like love, and the pain of failed relationships can certainly be heard.

If you're even mildly into Rock music you'll enjoy this album. Overall Ragpickers Dream is an a great release. I give it my double thumbs up. You will not be disappointed with one single track.

While the entire album is really very good some of my favorites are track 1 - Why Aye Man, track 3 - Hill Farmer's Blues, and track 12 - Old Pigweed

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 4 - A Place Where We Used To Live. Itís a great track!

Ragpickers Dream Release Notes:

Mark Knopfler originally released Ragpickers Dream on October 1, 2002 on the Warner Bros. Records label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. Why Aye Man
2. Devil Baby
3. Hill Farmer's Blues
4. Place Where We Used To Live, A
5. Quality Shoe
6. Fare Thee Well Northumberland
7. Marbletown
8. You Don't Know You're Born
9. Coyote
10. Ragpicker's Dream, The
11. Daddy's Gone To Knoxville
12. Old Pigweed

Personnel includes: Mark Knopfler (vocals, guitar); Richard Bennett (guitar); Paul Franklin (pedal steel); Glen Duncan (violin); Mike Henderson (harmonica); Jim Cox (piano, Hammond organ); Guy Fletcher (keyboards, background vocals); Glenn Worf (bass); Chad Cromwell (drums); Jimmy Nail, Tim Nealy (background vocals). I give away free leads 1 to 5 thousand of them for your success subscribe for directions.